Washington D.C. – The Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DISCUS), America’s leading advocate for the distilled spirits industry, today announced new appointments to the Craft Advisory Council for the term 2021-2022.

The Craft Advisory Council was created as a leadership council to represent craft distillers’ positions on key policy issues at the federal, state and local level, as well as to help guide DISCUS’ craft distiller-focused programming and benefits. Craft Advisory Council members are nominated by their peer DISCUS Craft Members, and the Craft Advisory Council votes on who will represent them as Chair for a two year term. The Chair also represents craft distillers on the DISCUS Board of Directors.

DISCUS President and CEO Chris Swonger welcomed the new Craft Advisory Council members and commented:

“DISCUS is proud to represent a growing membership of spirits producers of all sizes, including America’s fast-growing craft distillers. More than 2000 craft distillers across the United States provide important contributions to their local economies, tourism, and job market, and DISCUS is delighted to welcome these craft distiller leaders to the Craft Advisory Council.”

The Craft Advisory Council has elected Philip McDaniel, CEO and Co-Founder of St. Augustine Distillery, as Chair and Rob Cassell, President of New Liberty, as Vice Chair.

Incoming Craft Advisory Council Chair Philip McDaniel commented:

“St. Augustine Distillery is proud to be locally-owned and community-founded. We are committed to innovation and making where we live better for future generations. We are honoured to share what we’ve learned with the Craft Advisory Council and the broader DISCUS membership as we work together to shape the future of American distilling.”

The full 2021-2022 Craft Advisory Council membership follows

Philip McDaniel, Chair – St. Augustine Distillery (FL)

Robert Cassell, Vice Chair – New Liberty Distillery (PA)

Scott Harris – Catoctin Creek (VA)

 Jeff Quint – Cedar Ridge Distillery (IA)

Tom Lix – Cleveland Whiskey (OH)

Brian Facquet – Do Good Spirits (NY)

Michael Paluzzi – Falls Church Distillers (VA)

Steve Gould – Golden Moon Distillery (CO)

Adam Hirsch – Goza Tequila (GA)

Ted Huber – Huber’s Starlight Distillery (IN)

Amir Peay – James E Pepper (KY)

Jaime Windon – Lyon Rum (MD)

Tom Potter – NY Distilling Co. (NY)

Alex Castle – Old Dominick (TN)

Phil Brandon – Rock Town Distillery (AR)

Gareth Moore – Virginia Distillery Co. (VA)

Randy Carlson – Vermont Spirits (VT)

Lisa Cloutier – Whistling Andy Distillery (MT)

Kate Jerkens – Uncle Nearest Premium Whiskey (TN)

For more information on DISCUS’ Craft Distiller Membership, please visit here.